top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Donaher

Advocacy & Organization

Two skills I think are very important for the Ward 2 council seat are advocacy and organization. I'll touch on some experiences I've had recently that might demonstrate that I've had reason to flex my advocacy and organization muscles.

My background: I came to Sackville from the neighboring community of Moncton, where both sets of grandparents owned small business owners in the area (a mechanic garage on one side of the family and a landscaping/nursery business on the other). I'm fully bilingual.

I got a scholarship to Mount Allison University, married my high school sweetheart at The Chapel, moved away for a few years and then came back to settle in the Woodpoint area where we took possession of the beautiful, historic home formerly in the Barnes family.

I have been spending my adult life building things in Sackville, both physical structures at that beautiful farmstead, as well as connections between the community members. That includes my workplace teammates, the non-profit organization volunteers that I work with, and neighbours since I was part of the local service district's advisory council for several years.

I don't think it'll be easy to grow a new town of Tantramar, but I do hard things all the time. Unfortunately, 11 months ago, the barn burned down on the historic property. It has been 11 months of advocacy and communication with the insurance company so that we could get our policy entitlements. Additionally, during that time, my husband had a circular saw accident and we had to navigate the chaotic health care system, which required so much advocacy and communication! I believe these two skills I've had reason to practice during these past twelve months could contribute to the Town of Tantramar as a candidate for Ward 2.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page